At the airport. Mark and I have managed to successfully get our baggage checked in. We did learn you can’t take packing tape (gaffer tape) as hand luggage…apparently it’s one of those illegal items…like knives and bomb components. Mark had to run back through to the check-in area and squeeze the tape through the hand hold holes in our bike boxes. We weren’t going to leave those precious suckers behind as we discovered packing tape is very expensive in Europe last year!

Jo and Nige are already in Barcelona, apparently walking it flat for the weekend. Cobus is somewhere between South Africa and Barcelona, while Rika is all set to fly from Cape Town this afternoon. She’s going to have to hang around in Barcelona waiting for us…but we have an 8 hour layover in Doha so I guess we’re all kind of getting a beating in some way or other. Mark and I found these family rooms in Doha last year, where I slept with my face squished into a carpet that I am pretty sure was full of every kind of germ you can imagine…but at least I slept. Come to think of it, perhaps that’s where I got the ring worm behind my knee from!

I have to stop typing now because this beer is making me think funny…and I want to go past Haagen Dazs before we get onto that metal capsule filled with strangers for 8 hours. Eek. See ya on the other side homies. Peace Out.

Closing Time